5

I just noticed that whenever my WiFi is on this icon appears in between. I searched about this icon and I got information about it which says that this icon appears when "WiFi connection is being used to transfer data". Now I am little confused/ scared that if someone is transferring my mobile data using WiFi connection. I am not downloading or uploading any data and it still shows this icon. Kindly help me in clearing my doubts about this. Thanks in advance. Cheers 😃

3

There are a lot of background tasks to use the network

To name few:

  • Store checking (and downloading) app updates
  • E-mail sync
  • Other services you use to sync your stuff (OneDrive, DropBox, etc...)
  • Apps that run in background (such as Skype, Hike, WhatsApp, etc...)
  • Automatic OS updates
  • Sending of Feedback data

To answer your question

Now I am little confused/ scared that if someone is transferring my mobile data using WiFi connection

In Windows 10 Mobile Go to Settings->Network & Wireless->Data Usage. Check if data usage is allowed on Limited WiFi. Click Don't Allow button.

In Windows Phone 8.1 or lower, Go to Settings -> Cellular network. There is option "during limited WiFi connection" - make sure you have option "do not use cellular data" checked.

Also, your personal data are never transferred unless you specifically say so.

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.